Permatang Pauh Official Electoral Roll - An Overview

We summarize the official electoral roll for Permatang Pauh P044.

How was this electoral roll built? We believe the SPR has constructed this official by-election voters' roll (said to be dated 2008 July 31) from these building blocks:

  • The electoral roll gazetted on 2008 Jun 19, based on 2008 March 31 (2008Q1) data
  • Delete dead voters, moved-out, and other deletion-type, voters reported as of 2008 Jun 30 (2008Q2), ungazetted voters roll
  • Delete further any voters aged 100-year-old and older.
Step 3 raises the question whether proper procedures have been followed to verify the deletion, or voters 100 or more years old have simply been deleted.

What Table A below tells us:
  • Permatang Pauh contains 3 state assembly seats (DUNs)
  • It contains 28 voting districts (DM or Daerah Mengundi),
  • But it contains only 25 polling or voting stations (TM, or Tempat Mengundi), because 3 paris of DMs shared TMs.
  • There is a total of 420 localities or street area, or police stations (or army camps).
  • There are 58,459 voters, made up of 57,969 non-postal voters and 490 postal voters.
Table A: P044 Permatang Pauh - An Overview
The Number of …
DUN or State Assembly Seats3
DM or Voting Districts28
TM or Voting/Polling Station25
Lokaliti or Localities420
Non-postal voters 57,969
Postal voters490
Total Voters 58,459

What Table B below tells us:
  • This is a by-election at the parliamentary level, and not DUN level, but voters are still organized under 3 DUNs.
  • Seberang Jaya is the largest DUN, with 39% of the voters,
  • Penanti is the smallest DUN, only 2/3 the size of SJ.
  • There are 28 voting districts (DM), excluding postal voters,
  • There are 110 voting streams (Saluran), excluding postal voters.

Table B: P044 Permatang Pauh - Voters Broken Down by DUN
Parl/DUN codeNamaDUN
State Seat Name
Voting Districts
Voting Streams
044/10Seberang Jaya 22,790 39.0%939
044/11Permatang Pasir 20,289 34.7%939
044/12Penanti 15,380 26.3%1032
P044Total 58,459 100.0%28110

Table C below shows:
  • The names for 28 voting district (DM),
  • The name for 25 voting station (TM), because those DMs in red shared the same TMs,
  • The number of voters, ranging from 509 to 3,100 voters per DM.
  • The weight of voters of each voting district (DM), ranging from 0.9% to 5.3% of total,
  • The number of voting stream (Saluran) per DM, from 1 to mostly 5.
  • Note that TM "Sekolah Kebangsaan Seberang Jaya II Lengkok Tenggiri" contains 10 voting streams because it is shared by two DMs (5TM+5TM).
  • There are two other TMs with 8 and 7 voting streams for similar reason.
  • We can predict that old voters in such large TMs may be required to climb upstairs to vote. The three largest TMs are shared by two DMs each. Hopefully, there will be 10 class rooms on the ground floor to accommodate all the voting streams.
  • If there are not enough classrooms on the ground floor, voters from the first DM may be assigned to voting streams on ground floor, while voters from the second DM may be assigned upstairs.
  • In this case, even though the electoral roll attempts to arrange older voters (lower IC #) in the first few voting streams (Saluran), they are queued in front only on the upper floors.
  • The solution is for SPR to split the voting center vertically (left side for one DM and right side for the others), instead of horizontally.
  • You can also click under the "TM / Voting Station" for map links to each voting station (TM).
Table C: P044 Permatang Pauh Non-Postal Voters Broken Down by Voting District (28 NamaDM)
Parl/ DUN/ DM Nama DUN /
State Assembly Seat
NamaDM / Voting DistrictTM / Voting Station
(Click link for map)
Voters Per centSa lu ranSha red
044/10/01 Seberang Jaya Jalan Sembilang Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Seberang Jaya 2,933 5.1%5
044/10/02 Seberang Jaya Seberang Jaya IISekolah Kebangsaan Seberang Jaya II Lengkok Tenggiri 2,966 5.1%5Shared
044/10/03 Seberang Jaya Kampong Pertama Sekolah Kebangsaan Permatang Tok Kandu 1,607 2.8%3
044/10/04 Seberang Jaya Kampong Belah Dua Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Pauh Jaya Taman Pauh 2,168 3.7%4
044/10/05 Seberang Jaya Seberang Jaya I Sekolah Kebangsaan Seberang Jaya Persiaran Siakap 3,100 5.3%5
044/10/06 Seberang Jaya Jalan Bahru Sekolah Kebangsaan Jalan Baharu 2,274 3.9%4
044/10/07 Seberang Jaya Simpang Ampat Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Permatang Rawa 2,223 3.8%4
044/10/08 Seberang Jaya Jalan Tuna Sekolah Kebangsaan Seberang Jaya II Lengkok Tenggiri 2,926 5.0%5Shared
044/10/09 Seberang Jaya Taman Tun Hussein Onn Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Tun Hussien Onn 2,127 3.7%4

22,324 38.5% 39

044/11/01 Permatang Pasir Sama Gagah Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Sama Gagah 2,774 4.8%5
044/11/02 Permatang Pasir Permatang Ara Sekolah Kebangsaan Permatang Pasir 2,980 5.1%5
044/11/03 Permatang Pasir Permatang Pauh Sekolah Kebangsaan Permatang Pauh 1,759 3.0%4
044/11/04 Permatang Pasir Bukit Indra Muda Sekolah Kebangsaan Bukit Indera Muda 2,750 4.7%5
044/11/05 Permatang Pasir Kampong Pelet Sekolah Jenis Kebangsaan (Cina) Kubang Semang Jalan Kepala Batas 1,750 3.0%4
044/11/06 Permatang Pasir Kubang Semang Sekolah Kebangsaan Seri Penanti 1,424 2.5%3Shared
044/11/07 Permatang Pasir Tanah Liat Mukim 8 Sekolah Kebangsaan Seri Penanti 2,175 3.8%4Shared
044/11/08 Permatang Pasir Kampong Cross Street 2 Sekolah Rendah Islam Al Masriyah Jalan Abdul Kadir 2,179 3.8%4
044/11/09 Permatang Pasir Permatang Tengah Sekolah Jenis Kebangsaan (Cina) Lay Keow Permatang Pauh 2,497 4.3%5

20,288 35.0% 39

044/12/01 Penanti Guar Perahu Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Guar Perahu 1,907 3.3%4
044/12/02 Penanti Kuala Mengkuang Sekolah Kebangsaan Guar Perahu 2,727 4.7%5
044/12/03 Penanti Telok Wang Dewan Orang Ramai Kampung Tun Sardon Ara Kuda 599 1.0%1
044/12/04 Penanti Mengkuang Sekolah Kebangsaan Mengkuang 1,901 3.3%4
044/12/05 Penanti Sungai Lembu Sekolah Jenis Kebangsaan (Cina) Perkampungan Sungai Lembu 509 0.9%1
044/12/06 Penanti Penanti Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Mengkuang 1,061 1.8%3
044/12/07 Penanti Kubang Ulu Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Penanti 1,400 2.4%3
044/12/08 Penanti Sungai Semambu Sekolah Kebangsaan Tanah Liat 1,872 3.2%4Shared
044/12/09 Penanti Tanah Liat Mukim 9 Sekolah Kebangsaan Tanah Liat 1,920 3.3%4Shared
044/12/10 Penanti Berapit Road Sekolah Jenis Kebangsaan (Cina) Jit Sin (A) Jalan Berapit 1,461 2.5%3


15,357 26.5% 32


57,969 100.0% 110

  • We are not sure about the map locations for "Sekolah Rendah Islam Al Masriyah Jalan Abdul Kadir" (try tel: 04 538 5126, 04 521 5126), "Dewan Orang Ramai Kampung Tun Sardon Ara Kuda," and "Sekolah Jenis Kebangsaan (Cina) Perkampungan Sungai Lembu" (A.K.A. SJK(C) Kg. Sg. Lembu, try tel: 04 521 1795).
  • Please inform us about any map location mistakes.
  • You can look up this PDF file for Penang schools' telephone numbers: http://www.moe.gov.my/emis/emis2/emisportal2/doc/fckeditor/File/senarai_sek_08/rendah/SekRen08_PP.pdf

No comments: