Kuala Terengganu (P036) By-Election 2009 Jan 17

Polling day is 2009 Jan 17. Campaign period is 11 days, counting from nomination day of Jan 6. SPR will use the electoral roll gazetted on 2008 Dec 5, containing 80,229 registered voters, made up of 79,194 ordinary and 1,035 postal voters. SPR said there would be 36 polling centres, 143 polling streams, and SPR 877 workers.

Voters can verify their voting status in three ways:

  • Online at SPR Web page http://daftarj.spr.gov.my/semakp36/prayakecil.aspx
  • Via short messaging service, available until Jan 17. To do so, type SPR followed by identity card number and send the SMS to 15888. Each text message will be charged 35 sen.
  • By telephoning the state EC office at 09-6221218 or 09-6236161 between 8am and 12 midnight from today until Jan 17.

Undi.info Summary
TERENGGANU: P36 - Kuala Terengganu Voters: 80,325
Party Candidate Votes Majority
UMNO Datuk Razali Ismail 32,562 628
PAS Mohamad Sabu 31,934
IND Maimun Yusuf 685

Racial Breakdown

Malay: 88.14%, Chinese: 10.94%, Indian: 0.65%, Others: 0.27%
TERENGGANU: P36 - Kuala Terengganu Voters: 72,259
Party Candidate Votes Majority
UMNO Razali Ismail 30,994 1,933
PAS Dr Syed Azam Syed Ahmad 29,061

Racial Breakdown

Malay: 87.50%, Chinese: 11.50%, Indian: 0.70%, Others: 0.20%

State Seats / Polling Districts

N13 - Wakaf Mempelam
Pulau Rusa, Kampung Paluh, Losong Datok Amar, Losong Penglima Perang, Losong Hj Mat Shafie, Seberang Baruh, Wakaf Beruas, Merbau Patah, Durian Burung, Sungai Rengas, Wakaf Mempelam,
N14 - Bandar
Tok Ku, Cabang Tiga, Hiliran Masjid, Losong Masjid, Pulau Kambing, Kampung Cina, Pejabat Bandaran, Paya Bunga, Pantai Terengganu,
N15 - Ladang
Ladang, Mengadang Akar, Batas Baru, Gong Kapas, Pasir Panjang, Bukit Bayas,
N16 - Batu Buruk
Batu Buruk, Kampung Nibung, Gong Tok Nasek, Bukit Depu, Kampung Kuala Ibai, Cendering Pantai, Cendering, Taman Permint Jaya,


- Grandma Maimun 'cycling' to Parliament
Source: Undi.info: Terengganu
Links for more news and analysis:
Bernama news:

Kuala Terengganu By-election On Jan 17
December 05, 2008 13:35 PM

PUTRAJAYA, Dec 5 (Bernama) -- Nominations for the Kuala Terengganu parliamentary by-election will be held on Jan 6 next year and polling on Jan 17, in the event of a contest. [Campaigning period is 11 days]

Election Commission (EC) deputy chairman Datuk Wan Ahmad Wan Omar, in announcing this after the EC meeting on Friday, said the respective writs and notices would be issued on Sunday and Dec 21.

He said the dates were fixed after taking into account various factors including the weather forecast from the Meteorological Department which said that Terrengganu would be experiencing certain weather conditions in the near term.

"The EC has 60 days to hold the by-election so there is no reason to rush it after taking into account the weather and year-end factors and the manpower needs because 70 per cent of the election worker comprise teachers who are currently having their year-end school holidays.

"Jan 17 is the most suitable date because it gives all parties concerned ample opportunity to prepare, especially the contesting parties in the selection of their candidates," he told reporters at the EC office here.

The Kuala Terengganu seat fell vacant following the death of the incumbent, Deputy Education Minister Datuk Razali Ismail, while playing badminton at Institute Aminuddin Baki in Genting Highlands last Friday.

Wan Ahmad said the
electoral roll which was verified yesterday and gazetted today would be used for the by-election.

The electoral roll contained
80,229 registered voters, comprising 79,194 ordinary voters and 1,035 postal voters, he added.

He said there would be
36 polling centres, 143 polling streams and 877 workers.

The meeting also agreed to set up two election campaign enforcement teams to monitor the campaigning. Each team would be headed by an enforcement officer and would comprise representatives of the candidates, the local authorities and police officers with the rank of inspector and above.

Wan Ahmad said Kuala Terengganu
Mayor Datuk Razali Kassim had been appointed returning officer for the by-election and he would have six assistants.

He also announced that the EC had
agreed to the presence of representatives of the Malaysians for Free Election (Mafrel) as obervers in the by-election.

Mafrel observers would only be allowed in the polling centres on polling day and were prohibited from entering the polling streams, he said.

"The laws do not allow anyone in the polling streams except the election workers, candidates' agents, voters, EC members and individuals allowed by the EC.

"We still allow Mafrel to be observers like in the 12th general election and the Permatang Pauh parliamentary by-election but the conditions are strict because we do not want the conduct of the by-election to be disrupted," he said.

Covering an area of 60,528.1ha, the
Kuala Terengganu constituency is one of eight parliamentary constituencies in Terengganu and is regarded as important because it houses the state and federal administrative centres and is the seat of the state capital, Kuala Terengganu, which gained city status on Jan 1 this year.

The rapid development of the place is reflected in the construction of structures like the Sultan Mahmud International Airport, Gong Badak Sports Complex and the Universiti Darul Iman (UDM)and Universiti Malaysia Terengganu (UMT)campuses.

The staging of the annual Monsoon Cup yachting race in Pulau Duyong since 2005 had helped put Kuala Terengganu on the world sporting and tourism map while the Islamic Civilisation Park is fast becoming a tourist attraction.

Razali won the seat from PAS in the 2004 general election, polling 30,994 votes against 20,061 votes by Dr Syed Azman Syed Nawawi of PAS for a 1933-vote majority.

He retained the seat with a 628-vote majority in the March 8 general election, polling 32,562 votes against PAS vice-president Mohamad Sabu (31,934). An independent candidate, Maimun Yusof, 89, polled 685 votes and lost her deposit.

The constituency has 80,325 voters [in March 2008] -- 87.4 per cent Malays, Chinese (11.6 per cent), India (0.7 per cent) and others (0.3 per cent) -- and four state constituencies comprising Wakaf Mempelam, Ladang , Batu Buruk which is held by PAS and Bandar.

The above news and this news both reported the by-election electoral roll was to be gazetted on 2008 Dec 5, although the SPR by-election voter verification Web page does not confirm the date of gazette. Previously, we had questioned why the SPR was using ungazetted electoral roll at Permatang Pauh by-election.

1 comment:

Totalcare said...

PAS should change the way their policy if they want to be national party. Keep on talking HUKUM HUDUD, only show them very far away from new century. Now Pas candidate had problem to win non-muslim vote. coz of their inconsistantcy. cakap tak serupa bikin.